Establishment of Science Cities

The National Council of Science Museums (NCSM), an autonomous Organization under the Ministry of Culture, is engaged in establishment of Regional Science Centres / Science Cities throughout the country.

The objectives for establishing a Science City include:

  • To portray the growth of science and technology and their applications in industry and human welfare.
  • To popularize and to enhance understanding of science and technology in cities, urban and rural areas for the benefit of students and for the common man

The following Science Cities have already been set up.

  1. Science City, Kolkata
  2. Regional Science City, Lucknow

In addition, Pushpa Gujral Science City at Kapurtala, Punjab and Gujarat Science City at Ahmadabad, Gujarat have been set up by agencies other the National Council of Science Museums than but with financial assistance from the Ministry of Culture.

The proposal for setting up of a Science City at Guwahati in the state of Assam has also been approved.

Proposals have been received from Governments of Bihar, Karnataka, Haryana, Odisha, Chhattisgarh, Maharashtra and Andhra Pradesh to set up Science Cities.

The Science Cities Scheme

The Science Cities Scheme provides for setting up of Science Cities in all the states of the country is subject to availability of funds for this purpose.

States desirous of setting up a Science City under the Science Cities Scheme have to provide land, share the cost of setting up of facilities and corpus for upkeep and maintenance, and meet other commitments as per norms of the Scheme.

The Scheme does not specify any time limit for setting up of Science Cities in all States/Union Territories. In case of approved projects, the time frame for completion of the project as per the Scheme is about 54 months from the date of start of the project.