The Russian Revolution took place in 1917 which dismantled the Tsarist autocracy and led to the rise of the Soviet Union. It led to the formation of the world’s first communist state. The revolution happened in stages through two separate revolutions, namely the February revolution and the October revolution.

Full access to this article is available to Members only. To read this article and all other premium articles, you need to get membership, (plans starting at just 150).
Please log in if you are already a member.